The Republic of South Sudan

Key Indicators for Central Equatoria

Document Type

On 9th July 2011 South Sudan became the world’s newest country when it seceded from Sudan following an historic referendum on self- determination that took place in January 2011.

Central Equatoria is a state in the South of South Sudan and is bordered by Eastern Equato- ria to the east, D.R.C. and Uganda to the south and Western Equatoria to the west. To the North lies Jonglei and Lakes.

In the key transitional period following independ- ence, it is vital to ensure that the latest data is widely disseminated and put to the best possible use. This document is intended as a quick refer- ence to available statistical information on South Sudan. Additional information on all the included indicators as well as others are available on or on request from the NBS.

We hope that it will serve its purpose of being an intro- duction to the most up-to-date statistics available for gov-ernment, policy makers, the international community and all those who are interested in South Sudan.