The Republic of South Sudan

Key Indicators for Southern Sudan

Document Type

Southern Sudan is currently an autonomous region within Sudan, but in July 2011 it is scheduled to become the world’s newest country as it secedes from Sudan following an historic referendum on self-determination that took place in January 2011.

Southern Sudan is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south, and the Central African Republic to the west. To the north lie the states
of Southern Darfur, Southern Kordufan, White Nile, Sennar and Blue Nile which fall under the Northern region of Sudan. Southern Sudan’s capital city is Juba, in Central Equatoria State.

In the key transitional period leading up to independence, it is vital to ensure that the latest data is widely disseminated and put to the best possible use. This document is intended as a quick reference to available statistical information on Southern Sudan. Additional information on all the included indicators as well as others are available on or on request from the SSCCSE. We hope that it will serve its purpose of being an introduction to the most up-to-date statistics available for government, policy makers, the international community and all those who are interested in Southern Sudan.