The Republic of South Sudan

Key Indicators for Eastern Equatoria

Document Type

On 9th July 2011 South Su- dan became the world’s newest country when it seceded from Sudan following an historic refer- endum on self-determination that took place in January 2011.

Eastern Equatoria is a state in the South East of South Sudan and is bordered by Central Equatoria to the west, Uganda and Kenya to the south and Ethiopia to the East. To the North lies Jonglei.

In the key transitional period following independence, it is vital to ensure that the latest data is widely disseminated and put to the best possible use. This document is intended as a quick reference to available statistical information on South Sudan. Additional information on all the included indicators as well as others are available on or on request from the NBS.

We hope that it will serve its purpose of being an introduction to the most up-to-date statistics available for government, policy makers, the international community and all those who are interested in South Sudan.